ZeHabesha Ethiopian News | Latest News for All | 24/7

Ethiopia’s ruling party sweeps parliament: early election results

(Reuters) — Ethiopia’s ruling party and its allies won a large majority in parliament, the country’s election board said on Wednesday, based on an early vote count in a weekend election in which opponents complained their supporters were harassed.
Zehabesha election 2007 news
Charges of abuse were dismissed by Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn, leader of the Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF), which has been in power for almost 25 years. It was widely expected to sweep the vote.
The EPRDF and its allies won 442 seats out of 547, according to a Reuters tally calculated after election board Chairman Merga Bekana read out regional results so far. The opposition won just one seat in the last parliament.
Board announces preliminary election results of Ethiopia’s General Election as follows:
Tigray National Regional State, (TPLF-EPRDF) won 31 parliamentary seats out of the 31 counted, total 38;
Amhara National Regional State, (ANDM-EPRDF) won 107 parliamentary seats out of 107 counted, total 138;
Oromiya National Regional State, (OPDO-EPRDF) won 150 parliamentary seats out of 150 counted, total 178;
Ethiopian Somali National Regional State, the Ethiopian Somali Democratic Party (ESDP) won 16 parliamentary seats out of 16 counted, total 23;
Benishangul Gumuz National Regional State, the Benishangul Gumuz Democratic Party won all 7 parliamentary seats, total 9.
Southern Nations, Nationalities and People’s Regional State, (SEPDM) won 95 parliamentary seats, total 123;
Gambela National Regional State, the Gambela People’s Democratic Party won all 3 parliamentary seats, total 3;
Hareri National Regional State, the Hareri National League won two parliamentary seats and OPDO-EPRDF won the remaining third seat, total 2;
Dire Dawa City Administration, OPDO-EPRDF won one seat, while the Somali People Democratic Party (SPDP) won one seat, total 2 .
In the capital Addis Ababa, EPRDF won all 23 parliamentary seats, total 23
Afar National Regional State, EPDRF won 6, total 8 seats

Read Aloud:   Video: TPLF accuses Eritrea of 'terror attack' on key dam

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.