Ethiopia Launches Online Entry Visa Application and Issuance

2 mins read

In a new national initiative to transform and grow the tourism sector in Ethiopia, the country’s immigration agency has launched an online visa application and issuance system for eligible citizens of some 37 countries mostly from Europe, North America and East Asia. Citizens of Kenya and Djibouti can enter Ethiopia with out visas as they are exempt from visa requirement.

Citizens of the 37 eligible countries can securely fill out entry visa application online and upon approval will receive an email which they can show on arrival in Ethiopia to get the visa stamped on their passports.

Regarding the new service Group CEO Ethiopian Airlines, Mr. Tewolde GebreMariam remarked, “Ethiopia, the oldest independent civilization in Africa and one of the oldest in the world, is endowed with historical places, natural beauty, colourful and diverse cultural activities and various endemic wild animals which are of great interest to international tourists. However; we have not made best use of these natural resources to attract large number of tourists. To this effect, this project is part of a new national initiative to transform the tourism sector in the country. The full commencement of the Online Visa application and issuance system will promote tourism, trade and investment to the country. It will save time, energy and cost for travelers to Ethiopia in addition to the simplicity and convenience that it facilitates. With direct flights to/from more than 95 destinations from all corners of the world operated by the most modern airplanes, we will continue to make travel to Ethiopia, dependable, easy, convenient and affordable. I will take this opportunity to thank our IT team and our colleagues at the Main Department for Immigration & Nationality Affairs for the commendable collaboration and the job well done.”

Read Aloud:   Ethiopia Introduces Deep Packet Inspection

The list of eligible countries for the online visa program are: Argentina, Australia, Austria,Belgium,Brazil,Canada,Czech Republic,Denmark,Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait,Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, North Korea, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Slovakia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States and China.

Kenya and Djibouti are exempted from visa requirement

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

1 × 5 =