ZeHabesha Ethiopian News | Latest News for All | 24/7

Ethiopia: Almaz Ayana Nominated for 2017 World Athlete of the Year Award

Almaz Ayana apWith the selection process to choose the 2017 World Athletes of the Year now underway, here’s a closer look at this year’s 10 women’s nominees who were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

The winner will be announced at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017 in Monaco on Friday 24 November.

The women’s nominees (listed alphabetically):

Almaz Ayana (ETH)
World 10,000m champion with a world-leading 30:16.32. World 5000m silver medallist.

Maria Lasitskene (ANA)
World high jump champion, IAAF Diamond League champion. Undefeated all year in 24 competitions. Moved to equal fifth on the world all-time list with her world-leading 2.06m.

Hellen Obiri (KEN)
World 5000m champion, IAAF Diamond League champion. Undefeated at 5000m. Set world leads of 8:23.14 at 3000m and 14:18.37 at 5000m.

Sally Pearson (AUS)
World 100m hurdles champion and IAAF Diamond League champion.

Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
World discus champion, IAAF Diamond League champion. Her world-leading 71.41m was the best throw in the world since 1992. Seven throws beyond 70 metres.

Brittney Reese (USA)
World long jump champion. Jumped a world-leading 7.13m.

Caster Semenya (RSA)
World 800m champion, IAAF Diamond League champion. World 1500m bronze medallist. Undefeated all year at 800m. Ran world lead of 1:55.16, the fastest time in the world for nine years.

Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE)
World pole vault champion, IAAF Diamond League champion. Undefeated outdoors. Cleared a world lead of 4.91m to move to equal fourth on the world all-time list.

Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)
World heptathlon champion. Set a world lead of 7013 at the Hypo Meeting in Gotzis to move to third on the world all-time list.

Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)
World hammer champion, IAAF Hammer Throw Challenge winner. Undefeated for a third consecutive season. World lead of 82.87m, the second-best mark in history. Six throws beyond 80 metres.

A three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms. Individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook and Twitter later this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook or a retweet on Twitter will count as one vote.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while the IAAF Family’s votes and the public votes will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting closes on 16 October. At the conclusion of the voting process, three men and three women finalists will be announced by the IAAF.

The male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.